Unfocused

My 'new' 45mm lens arrived. It's beautiful and very sharp - will be particularly good for street work and portraits.  We were due to visit friends and go for a walk but the weather was against us so we just sat drinking tea and chatting. I had no opportunity to try out the new lens.  

Yesterday evening I judged for Northfields CC. It was an Open theme and one of the most eclectic and adventurous sets of images I have seen. Challenging in many ways. One image was a street scene but totally way out of focus, clearly a deliberate effect. Disturbing but intriguing. I recalled the work of Croatian photographer 0lga Karlovac - fascinating and inspirational. Also the work of Bill Armstrong - a New York photographer. Do look these up with an open mind - it's all about colour, texture and shape as well as focusing (or not). With limited opportunity for anything meaningful I just used the 45mm to shoot a few indoor way-out-of-focus samples (a stack of books in this case). You'll probably wonder what planet I am on but the whole concept is very exciting.

Information on September's Mono Monday in the Challenges page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.