By the lake's edge; Day 24

Today is the 24th day that services from Auckland District Health Board have been restricted because of community transmission of Covid 19. The first NZ death due to the virus since the earlier days of the pandemic happened overnight. The number of new cases connected with the cluster of cases from a church was down to three in the last 24 hours. It may be that the limits of the two clusters has been reached.

The country is to remain at Alert Level 2, which could mean that the DHB will continue the restrictions on visiting, non urgent surgery, advice to staff to wear a mask at all times when with other staff and/or patients. And I will be restricted in what I do. 

After work I bought milk and bread and went to Western Springs Lake for a walk with my camera. On the southern side of the lake I saw a swan guarding a nest with a single egg. (My blip). On the northern side of the lake, I saw a pair of swans with a healthy looking cygnet, and an apparently deformed second one which they appeared to be hissing at and pecking at. The healthy cygnet got carried by one of the adults (first extra) and the other was harried by both parents (second extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.