Coffee and Cake

I feel like I have been in the kitchen most of the day.

My Dad gave me some plums the other day. They were very ripe and would have gone off soon if I didn't do something with them so I decided to make a plum crumble cake. It was pretty easy to make really but took a while to cook.

Yesterday Jae asked if I'd make him vegetarian chilli for lunch today, and teach him how to make it too. I said No initially as there were other things I wanted to do and I didn't want to be in the kitchen all day. He pretended to be annoyed, but was OK about it really. 

As it turned out, the fact that the cake was still "doing time" in the oven when he wanted to cook the (vegan) meatballs, pasta and sauce he was going to have instead meant that I felt obliged to give the chilli-cooking lesson after all! 

With two lots of washing up thrown in and a few other jobs too, I just had time for a quick nip to town before it was time to start making a more complicated chilli for Zeph's and my tea. 

It took a while, and I wished I hadn't bothered - for all the spices, herbs, onion and garlic it contained it managed to be completely flavourless - albeit quite hot. Most of it went straight down the loo without going via the middle man!

Good job there was cake to fill up on!

My daughter Jeri is down in London about to take on the challenge of a 100 mile race over the weekend! She has trained for it over lockdown and is good to go. Then next week she has another one... which she only booked as this one looked like being cancelled - and then wasn't. She is, of course, planning to do both! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.