Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

99 or the start of the hundredth year!

It's been a very busy and exciting day at The Beeches.

Mum turned 99 this morning. The day has been full of lovely messages and visits from friends far and wide.

There were three international calls. The first was from my cousin Margaret and husband, Peter, in Australia. Then we had a FaceTime with Iain, Andini and their children, Adam and Sarah in Manila. The children were ready for bed. We saw their new house and Adam showed off riding his two wheeler (with stabilisers) around the lounge!! The third call was my cousin Jean in New Zealand. 

There were UK calls on and off all day, messages on Facebook and emails. 

Flowers arrived from the Dray family - we made friends with them on holiday in Scotland many moons ago - and from the Baillies - Freda, Joan and Bob in Sunderland. The latter flowers were all picked from the garden of the florist today and included dahlias, sweet peas, phlox, love in the mist, mint and everlasting flowers. The bouquet is like an English cottage garden.

They contrast well with the beautiful roses that are in vases around the house.

Margaret (across the road) came at lunchtime with scones. Margret (next door) can't come because she has shingles. The other Marjorie came this afternoon, then Liz and Nick. Liz took a lovely photo of us nine years ago on Mum's 90th, so I set up the shot for her to photograph us again today. As she pointed out, I could have chosen a more sympathetic colour for my top. I remembered that I was wearing the blue top I wore 9 years ago, just last week!!

I had to use Liz's photo as my blip, but you can see Liz and Nick as representatives of all our visitors, both in reality and electronically, in the extra!!

We are both tired now. Arth held up well but is quite sore. He has decided not to complain because it's been such a wonderful day.

PS The carrot cake has cut well and is delicious, even though I say it myself. Well done Nigel Slater (cake) and Mary Berry (frosting)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.