The seeds of suspicion are still buried

somewhere in George & Jeans garden, in the little polythene bag that they received them in totally out of the blue. They had ordered lawn seed on Amazon, the padded envelope they received came from Malaysia (contents - stud earring). IF they ever come to light the the best action to take will be  to destroy them. I must remember to ask Jean if their order arrived.
I took George & Jean a little tray of veggies from the plot - tomatoes, courgettes, & a sweet green pepper, plus a few plums from a neighbours plot. Plants out, plants in, weeding, pruning, pieces of plants for propagating, a large clump of Solidago, unwanted, so that came home in the boot of the car for splitting & potting. The stock for my next plant sale is increasing nicely. George came out & chatted as he enjoyed the sunshine sat in the greenhouse, he's very pleased with the grapes, but more chuffed at the affect the vine leaves create overhead. He is funny. We chatted about Covid & mask wearing. Jean had already told me that he does'nt want to leave home as he does'nt want to put himself at risk. The family want to go out for a meal but he's not in favour. I had a quick rendition of 'We'll gather lilacs' one of the many songs he plays on his electric keyboard, as Jean had just mentioned planting a dwarf lilac she had in a pot. George wandered off indoors, then Jean sat & chatted as I worked. I was there for 5 hours ... Jean was told to make sure I took some grapes home with me. :-) She passed me this article from her newspaper to read later.
A late lunch, then I swatted up on Ox heart recipes .. Mock Goose, a recipe in one of my old cook books................ simmer the heart for 4-5hours then cool, remove fat, THEN bake for half an hour in a sharp oven. :-( The next recipe I found when I did a Google search - Ox heart stuffed with mushroom duxelle - cook for 40 mins to serve medium to medium rare. The photo accompanying the recipe put me off. I did my own thing .. made a forcemeat stuffing, sliced the heart, put the slices of a mirepoix, topped with forcemeat, then a rasher of streaky bacon, a little stock, cover, bake for 1hr30mins. The potatoes I roasted in the rendered fat removed from the heart, a very hearty dinner served with white cabbage & French beans from the allotment.
The grapes are quite sweet :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.