from DOWN UNDER

Mono Monday today is hosted by BlackTulip and the theme  is OVER AND UNDER. When I set the alarm on my phone I'm always woken up by this song   DOWN UNDER by Men At Work so I decided to go with that idea for my blip. The term Down Under is a colloquialism referring to Australia and New Zealand. The term comes from the fact that these countries are "below" almost all other countries, on the usual arrangement of a map or globe.

So I found something Australian to blip - its a pin tray  designed by Brownie Downing.  Its vintage - from the 1950's.  I probably bought it over 30 years ago at an antique fair or jumble sale.

The artist is Viola Edith "Brownie" Downing  (Australian 1924-1995) For generations of children and adults in Australia and overseas Brownie Downing brought out the magic of childhood, the Australian bush and its native inhabitants in an art career spanning several decades. Through her sketches, watercolours, porcelain items and  illustrated children's books she earned a distinct place in Australia's art world. Her success lay in an ability to capture the simple, naive beauty and innocence of children and wildlife in a way that transcended any one culture.

I've been in less pain today which is good.  I walked down to the village to do a bit of shopping.  It was nice to stretch my legs and the weather was OK.  Warmish - and dry.  And we had a lovely sunset this evening-- see Extra,

My brother C phoned this evening.  Just to tell me about all the things he's been making - mostly wooden planters for his little garden. He's made them from cedar wood which he has charred ( its a Japanese technique apparently ) . He's also made a flag pole so he can fly the Jolly Roger in his back yard ( Don't ask! )

Steps today - 7,520

CORONA CLASSIC - Le Onde by Ludovico Einaudi played by Australian guitarist Craig Ogden

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.