Crop failure

I have hundreds of tomatoes with what Google tells me is Blossom End Rot. Not a disease but a failure of the plant to absorb calcium because of fluctuating water levels. That'd be me not watering them in the August heatwaves after the August monsoons, then.

Edit: Not blossom end rot but blight.

The compost heap is filling and its woodlice are scampering like children in a playground made of cake.

It's not the end of the world for me - I became a tomato grower this spring only by accident, I have other tomato plants that are still healthy (for the time being), and I depend on my harvest neither for my nutrition nor my livelihood. But I am in newfound awe of the knowledge, skill and hard work of the people who succeed in growing the food that the rest of us so easily pluck from supermarket shelves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.