Otter jaws

This morning I took a long 3.5 hour 9.6 mile walk from my flat. I trekked through Holyrood Park and Duddingston, and then home again via the Innocent railway and the park. My companions along the route were PhD students Katherine and Rachel.

I hadn't heard that there is currently an otter resident in Dunsapie Loch, so I was very surprised/overjoyed/excited to see this wee fellow playing in the water. What big teeth he has! See the extra for a more relaxed pose. (We had wandered over to the loch to see how the cygnets had grown since Rachel and I saw them on 12th June. We saw that they are much bigger, but still obviously 'babies', or perhaps 'teenagers'.)

Since returning home I have been involved in various bits of administrivia, some domestic/recreational, and some work-related. I am also entertaining Mummy hazelh with the writing of Elena Ferrante. This morning she listened to the first seven episodes of Radio 4's reading of Ferrante's most recent novel The lying life of adults. This afternoon she is watching the television dramatisation of My brilliant friend. It's great to share my passion for this author with my mother.

Exercise today: walking (23,044 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.