Birthday lunch for Mummy hazelh

We've had a fun time on Mummy hazelh's birthday.

This morning my not-so-little sister took herself off to the Museum of Scotland for a couple of hours while Mr hazelh and I prepared lunch. Meanwhile Mummy hazelh welcomed surprise visitors Katharine and Jack. They called over for coffee and to bring Mummy hazelh a wee birthday present and a card.

By the time that we had swapped Katharine and Jack for my not-so-little sister again, everything was set for the arrival of our last four guests: Paddy and Caitlin (from up the road), and my middle sister and brother-in-law (from Holy Island).

Our lunchtime feast comprised manchego and chorizo pies as a first course. Then followed whole poached salmon (I cooked it in a fish kettle), baby new potatoes, watercress salad, and orzo with asparagus, leeks and hazelnuts. Pudding was the amazing chocolate fudge cake that Mr hazelh baked yesterday for Mummy hazelh's birthday cake.

Apart from eating and drinking, today we have enjoyed watching Mummy hazelh open her presents, played Carcassonne (I lost to Paddy), looked at old photographs, and talked, and talked, and talked.

By 18:45 we had the house back to ourselves again. My not-so-little sister is now en route driving my mother home to Northumberland, and Paddy and Caitlin are showing my middle sister and brother-in-law around Porty. My middle sister and brother-in-law should be back across the causeway by 20:30 (we hope!)

Tighter restrictions on household gatherings come into force in Scotland on Monday. I'm glad that we were all able to get together today.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.