pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Write on...

Today took its lead from yesterday’s word-based theme with a visit from a good friend for a verbal catch up, which preceded a whole bunch of word play for work and pleasure.

September 11 is a reminder of one of those days where those who were around then, can remember exactly where they were when they heard the news about the twin towers. My geographical ignorance showing itself at an early stage, I didn’t actually know what the twin towers were at that point in my life, but they are all too familiar now. Does anyone else have that “jarring” sense when the towers appear in Friends episodes or older films and TV shows?

Today also marks six months to the day that I began working from home. At that point, I was working on the assumption that it would only be for a couple of weeks and then 3 months max and now, well, I don’t think I’ll be back in the office this year. Nor do I need to be. Whilst my life has taken a few twists and turns, working from home has been a godsend for me, so I’m a little reluctant to give it up altogether.

However, I shall cross that bridge when I come to it.

I took the afternoon off today and spent it writing. Some spent on blips and stuff and the rest spent in the company of the panto director as we polished off Act 1 of Cinderella. Still no idea if the show will indeed go on, but certainly having a lot of fun writing it and seeing how far we can push the double entendres! Looking forward to Sunday as it will be a final chance to meet the full cast for a while (restrictions kicking in Monday) and hear the words being spoken and having the opportunity to see if the gags land.

I thought I’d post a picture of this spider plant because a) I’d forgotten to take any photos today and b) I was going to use it as a representation of patience and nurture and how something that started small and weak, has now grown into something else, which although a little frayed around the edges is strong and brings pleasure with its mere presence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.