The mornings a little fresher

the colours of the countryside changing. I love the brambles this time of year, especially with the sun shining through the leaves. Lots of juicy berries in the hedgerow, I was taking note this morning when Jorgie & I went for our walk. A gloriously sunny morning, the jumper came off on the first hill. A circular walk of about an hour. Had one hairy moment when something relatively small but supersonic shot out from one side of a gateway across & into the hedge on the other side. Too big for a mouse, so I'm thinking possibly a rat. Jorgie was off, me on the end of her lead. Thank goodness it disappeared into the hedge.
I nipped home to water the plants, grab some empty jars, I'm going to make some tomato chutney. Next stop the allotment, I got chatting with Dave about the plum tree needing attention with a saw, either bow or chain. He took a look & said he might be able to help a bit later. He shot off home for a cuppa & came back with a chain saw. Job done in about 10mins. I rang Liz. ....."get the cardboard up here, there's free mulch to be had" Next thing I know her nephew arrived with cardboard boxes. She's bought spot weed killer. Should soon have her fruit garden licked into shape. I ripped out my French bean plants, picked raspberries, & more courgettes then back to Jorgie. I opened up all the windows, it was so warm.  Ate lunch outside, then did a bit of gardening, cut the grass, & filled the pond. Time for a cider in the sunshine. So nice to have the evening sun to enjoy. Back home the sun has gone around to the other side of the house by mid afternoon. More warm days ahead apparently .. Whoop whoop!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.