Sunday, a day of rest ...

Not here in gloriously sunny Devon, first a lazy cuppa in bed with my book. I'm sticking with The Librarian of Auschwitz, it's based on the true story of Dita Kraus, a survivor.
Next, feed Jorgie, wheel the parrots out into the conservatory, fresh food, water, and dirt tray cleaned. I gave them some of Georges grapes ...  :-) Time for my breakfast, then walkies. Jorgie and I did a loop going UP, everywhere from here is UP, Bowdens lane, down the bridle path, (Haldon Lane), & back the road into the village. We bumped into Bronte' & her dad just going walkabout. Back to base, I faffed about for a little while. Jorgie came indoors to chill, so I headed over to the allotment. More work on Liz's fruit garden, first spraying the dandelions, then split the boxes laying them flat around the blackcurrant bushes, I was about 5 boxes short of completing that patch.  I began moving the chipped bark across by which time the top of my head was burning, My hat hanging up at home. I certainly did'nt think I would be needing it again this year. Warmer still forecast for the next few days. Liz arrived as I was packing my tools away.
Shot home to see hubby, he's been to Clevedon to visit family. Watered the toms & sweet pepper plants, then it was time to get back to Jorgie, & a late lunch. I sat in the sun doing the crossword when a large flock of rooks passed overhead ... quite a sight. Then they were gone.  I did a bit of planter tidying once it was a bit cooler. Then Jorgie & I had a game of fetch with a manky cloth ball.
I made a lovely fresh pasta sauce using veggies I've grown for dinner tonight. It hit the spot!

This rose has a wonderful perfume, Jorgiesmum has it growing in a large tub. A little deadheading will be needed in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.