Photogen

By Photogen

Photo Trail

Today I met my friend Pat and we set off, after a bite of lunch, for a walk around Mugdock Country Park, a beautiful semi-natural area near the Campsie Hills. The walk had a three-fold purpose - to catch up on our news, to take some exercise and Pat wanted a few tips on how to get more from her compact camera. We took pictures of each other, the woodland, the pond and Mugdock Loch. The weather was generally overcast but it stayed dry apart from the odd snow flake. However, it was not the kind of day that I'd normally expect to take many good photos because of the dull light.
Yet I am finding that the drive to create a decent Blipfoto is making me explore more creative features of the photo software on my computer and work at creating better results with whatever I've got.
Today's picture is Pat beside the grey mossy trunk of a sycamore tree with the loch and its reflections. I played around with the colour temperature, saturation and definition, then added a Photoshop poster edges filter to achieve a picture in pleasing overall grey/green tones. I think it also captures the enjoyment we got out of a walk, talk and some fun photography with our little automatic cameras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.