Photogen

By Photogen

The Gritting Lorry

Another heavy snowfall today has made many roads impassable or at least quite dangerous. I'd actually taken a number of plant/flower/garden pictures in snow and was working on them at my computer. (I've added some to the start of the Special Effects album of my Blipfolio.) Then I heard a few shouts from outside and there was the grit lorry stopped, with the driver out of his cabin tackling a blocked spreader, I suspect.
A grit lorry does not spring to mind as the most photogenic subject, but working on the principle that, as far as possible, my Blips should capture some sort of uniqueness or spontaneity of the day, regardless of how carefully I may have planned something else, I have chosen the above picture. It has been given a little bit of a painterly effect and I have emphasized the yellow of the vehicle in contrast to the bluish monochrome landscape.
It's not often that the council workers' efforts are acknowledged, but they're out there in all conditions trying to keep the wheels turning, and they usually are very cheery with it. In fact, this chap jokingly hid his face when he spotted me with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.