Crested And Spangled

Lovely walk at Fishers Green late this afternoon. We were hunting dragons in a pond next to Norman's Pond when this great crested grebe swam into view. It was completely fearless and confiding. 

This morning I noticed the galls on an oak sapling because a willow emerald damselfly had landed on it. (Extras) I was very interested to read that these are spangle galls and silk button spangle galls. They're produced by the Neuroterus numismalis gall wasp.

This got me thinking of Spangles. My sisters and I used to love the spearmint ones so that we could pretend we had chewing gum which we weren't allowed. Spangles are mentioned in Art Lover by The Kinks. Never heard it before. Quite worryingly creepy until I read that it's about divorced fathers who only see their daughters on Sundays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.