Tribute To The Few

I'm sad that the pandemic has put paid to proper commemorations of the eightieth anniversary of The Battle of Britain. I'd heard that The Blades aerobatic team had planned to visit WWII airfields in tribute but information about where and when was deliberately sketchy so as not to encourage people to break the rule of six. 

I decided to go to North Weald anyway as Hurricanes based here played a key role in the Battle of Britain. When we arrived there was just one man with a camera. He told me that The Blades were expected sometime in the afternoon. When it's cold airfields are freezing and when it's hot, like today, they're boiling. Ollie and I sat in the shade of the van.

I had a nice chat with a guy who was with a photographer taking pics of his KTM Super Duke 1290 bike. They were pleased to have a McLaren as a backdrop. I photographed a Westland Wasp helicopter and Yakovlev Yak52. (The bike photographer asked me if it was a Spitfire!) The Hurricane is a model gate guardian.

Well done The Blades for paying tribute to The Few.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.