ULVERSTON

A lovely day today with my lovely fellow blipper, AYWMCer, EPDSer and best of all, friend CumbriaLass with her lovely dog Fletch.

The journey going for me was a little slow as I came across three different sets of road works, two on dual carriageways!!!! Still I'd left plenty of time so no stress and we didn't come to a standstill.  Except someone in a black BMW decided he was go at extra fast speed past myself and the tractor I'd got stuck behind right at the end of the double hatching - then proceeded to be stuck himself all the way to Ulverston - although he did try moving out several times much to the shock of oncoming traffic!!!!

No matter I got there safely and CumbriaLass wasn't far beind, so just as well I'd allowed myself extra time.

We parked at The Gill car park and then walked up to the little waterfall at the top of the Gill, came back and followed another path which went quite steeply up to bring us to to Stockbridge Lane I think it was called.  CumbriaLass checked her brilliant phone and found we could follow this back down to Ulverston and back to our cars.

Boy was it hot - a bit too hot for myself and Fletch, but on getting back to the car Fletch managed to sit in the shade and CumbriaLass had some water for him.

We then went into Ulverston to go to Gillam's for lunch.  The town was quite busy, a little two crowded for my liking at the moment, but to be fair everyone was fine it's just several people in an area tends to make feel uncomfortable in these times.

Gillam's was very well set up and we had a good seat so Fletch could cool down on the tiled floor under the bench, with more water.

Lovely light lunch and a much needed cool drink and chat and we were revived.

The photo is of The Hoad, a monument to Sir John Barrow built in the style of a lighthouse, although it is not a lighthouse and it is overlooking Ulverston.  Which is the birthplace of Stan Laurel of course.  The Extras are a photo of Fletch, CumbriaLass and The little waterfall up The Gill.

We gave each other a virtual hug goodbye (Fletch got several hugs though) and I made my way home.  Miraculously on the way home all but one of the roadworks had been put away - so I sailed home no problems at all.

Now to think where we can meet up again next month - something for autumn colours I hope and no crowds.  

Do take care out there everyone and stay safe.  Thank you for dropping by and all your lovely comments and stars.  They are so appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.