Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"More than just a walk....."

This is the tagline we have used in the Haltwhistle Walking Festival for the last few years. Our leaders all make sure that they provide interesting snippets of information for the walkers, many of whom no nothing about the area. The short talks can be about geology, natural history, archaeology, history (often Roman or Reivers) or even fiction. (Did you know about the pineapple plantation near the Langley viaduct?!

Maureen has spent the last few months putting together a brilliant little book about the festival. Julie did the front cover. I sorted the photos and several people wrote stories of their festival experiences (often wet or muddy or both).

Today I had an online consultation with my orthopaedic surgeon. I like him very much, but orthopods are not the best for chat. I explained about the good range of movement that Arth has, but that I still have pain on the outer side of the knee. He didn't say much, but I realised he was disappointed with this. I said so and he concurred. "You must be disappointed" I said. He agreed. "Perhaps it will improve with more time", I said. He agreed it might.

I felt that the consultation had not gone quite the way I expected, especially when I taught a lot of students how to elicit the patient's concerns!

He will see me in the flesh in two months, so we have got time for positive change.

Arth has actually had a much better day with no pain and I walked over a mile this afternoon, in the baking heat.

When I came home, Maureen and Brian had been waiting for ages to give me my copy of the book. We had tea and trifle to celebrate. There will be no champagne launch in the foreseeable future.

Julie and I had a long chat on FaceTime and caught up.

It is still very hot and also dark at 7.30pm. Phew!

The book is brilliant.

Arth:  I didn't like that surgeon saying he was disappointed in me. I've done my best. I've worked hard. I can't do more.
Aggie: Cheer up Arth. Marj thinks you are doing pretty well. It's not your fault that part of you is still very sore. Let's give it a bit more time. You did so well on the exercise bike and on the walk today.
Arth: Thank you Aggie. You can be very kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.