Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Que Pasa?

Well, nuts!  This posted before I had a chance to write anything!  I'll fix that.

It was very chilly this morning - glad I brought the monarchs in last night.  Eventually, it warmed up and I loaded the kayak onto the roof of the car (it's inflatable but it's somewhat time consuming to inflate it at the lake - easier to keep it inflated and load it onto the roof when I want to take it out.)  I had a very enjoyable hour or so paddling around on a two connected lakes.  No dragons as it was too chilly still but I did manage to accidentally startle 5 wood ducks (and myself when they shot out of the lily pads in front of me).  And then I came across a pied-billed grebe who was calmly fishing only about 20-30 feet from the kayak.  I didn't have a camera with me, so I just sat back and enjoyed the experience.  It was so peaceful and quiet on the lakes - just what I needed.

Back at home, this juvenile male Northern Cardinal was perched on the cherry tree chipping his little heart out hoping to be fed.  I happened to click the shutter just as he tilted his head as if to way "what's up?"  This is the last of the youngsters this year and his parents seem to be stretching out the time that they are feeding him.  

I released 5 monarchs today - 3 females and 2 males.  Looks like at least two will be ready tomorrow.  And 7 little cats still eating...  I took a shot of #36 just before she emerged today - have a look HERE.  It looks like a piece of art glass, doesn't it?

I was reading some news from S. America today and was horrified to learn that the Pantanal, the world's largest wetlands, in Brazil is also on fire.  This area represents some of the greatest bio-diversity in the world with many endemic species.  There are details emerging of staggering death tolls among many endangered and threatened species in the Pantanal.  This in addition to the fires that are raging out of control in the Amazon and the west coast of the United States.  How can people continue to deny the science of climate change???

Stay safe, be kind, be loving.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.