Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Look Again...

I have often been fooled by these Monarch-mimics although it is quite easy to tell them apart when you know what to look for.  The most telling feature is the line running parallel to the wing edge on the hind wing.  Also notable if you're looking is the distinctive markings on the head which are quite different than those of a monarch.  That said, when one is fluttering around, it can be very hard to tell them apart.  I don't always see this species in the yard, so I was very happy to find one today in among the monarchs on my buddleia bush.

And speaking of monarchs...my last four caterpillars are done eating and are now spinning their pads in preparation to pupate tomorrow.  Always a little bittersweet when the last ones finish their caterpillar chapter, although it does take the pressure off in terms of having to provide fresh, healthy milkweed!  And, happily, this means they will all emerge and be released before I leave for Columbia next month.

Today in the yard there were two hummers chasing each other all over the place.  And, as a nice late-season surprise, there were two Blue-gray gnatcatchers foraging near the deck.  Click HERE to see the gnatcatcher showing her eye ring and white tail-trim, and click HERE for a dancing hummer.

My hands felt better today and in spite of only getting 6 hours sleep last night, I have felt pretty perky.  Which did not stop me calling the oncologist and making an appointment.  She can't get me in until 6 Oct, so I asked them to put me on the call list in case they get a cancellation.  I'm wanting to get a handle on this before I take off for ten days of intense photography!

The leaves haven't started to change yet, but they are starting to drop and can be seen fluttering all over the garden now.  And the hickory nuts are falling which is keeping the squirrels busy and also keeping me away from the "fall zone".  Those suckers would definitely leave a mark were one to hit me on the head!

Dark with almonds today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.