Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Black Pond

I had some chores to do at home this morning but Xena did not mind waiting for her walk, In fact she is peculiar in that she never seems keen to go for a walk, yet when we are out she absolutely loves it and dashes about everywhere. We always laugh as when Gavin gets the lead and harness out ready for a walk she hears him getting them and quickly hides under the kitchen table, she is so funny. She is better with me but I still have to coax her outside for her walk. And they say Vizslas are such hard work as they need hours and hours of walks each day :) I must have a broken one!

Another hot day but not as hot as yesterday, thank goodness. After lunch I decided I wanted a change of scenery for photos so I went to Black Pond and took some long exposure shots of the pond. I thought this would qualify for the 'minimalism' theme as it is a very minimalist landscape with no clouds in the sky, and not one water bird on the pond, which is very unusual as there are lots of ducks and geese that have made this pond their home. A plain, pared down landscape!

I enjoyed my first camera club meeting (via zoom) on Monday as we had a guest presenter showing her images of Scotland - she was the overall winner of the Scottish Nature Photography Award last year and her landscapes are just amazing, have a look here to see her work. An advantage of zoom meetings is that you can get photographers from all over the country to present their work as they don't have to travel to get to your club. I am not sure I will attend every week, I think I will find weekly meetings a bit onerous but we will see how it goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.