Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Warm and sunny for the search

It was very misty this morning. The first thing I saw through the window was the spider's web at the top of the wigwam of sweet peas. I was out to photograph it as soon as I could. The camera took one image and then everything was black. The battery was OK. By the time I went inside, changed lenses, cleaned contacts, changed the battery and tried again, the sun was too high in the sky, so the extra is the first one I took. The camera is a mystery.

We had our photo group Zoom coffee morning. Very pleasant and lots of good stories to tell.

I wandered down the main street in search of the hummingbird hawk-morth that has been sighted in the village. Graham B, who told me about it, was out with his camera. No luck.

In the afternoon I returned, as did Graham. No hummingbird hawk-moth but loads of active butterflies. I liked this small tortoiseshell but had lots of choice.

Tonight our zoom meeting was presented by 10 of our group. Everyone had chosen a fixed focal length for their images. What a variety. The majority chose to go wide angled, with only one longer lens at 135mm.

Life in the time of Covid 19
I recorded the statement made by Chris Witty and Patrick Vallance today. Living in a rural area, it is hard to relate to the statistics. We have very low rates of Covid. Noone in the photo group knows anyone who has been ill.

I do understand the concerns. Did these two senior clinicians manage to communicate clearly with the audience? My feeling is that multiple graphs are just a turn off. How many people are used to reading graphs? They both spoke well, coherently, but in quite long sentences.

I needed someone to come on at the end and say:
Things are very bad
You need to protect your Mam and your Nana
You know what to do!

Talking to Liz later - when she delivered some shopping (thank you Liz) - she said that the message about protecting your family no longer applies to students who are away from home after months of restrictions. Never thought of that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.