Pool Day

After yesterday's long walk, we decided to have a lazy day today and hired another day bed in the hotel grounds.  I went to get some photos of the pool while it was quiet, mind you it's never very busy and most of the time I have it to myself, and as you can see the sun loungers are very well spaced apart and have their own area marked with tape  that you have to keep them in to maintain the distance.

After taking my photos, I was walking back to the day bed when I caught my flip flop on the edge of some decking near the poolside bar and could feel myself starting to fall.  It all happened in slow motion and I was trying to steady myself and kept moving forwards, concerned about my camera more than myself, but I couldn't get my balance and finally fell forwards.  As I did I kept my arm up in the air and rolled onto my side to protect the camera, but I grazed my knee and feel rather sore down my right hand side and chest.  What a sight I must have looked, particularly as I was only wearing my swimming costume, and I landed right in front of a couple who were sat having a coffee!  A Dutch lady asked if I was ok, by which time Alan had come over - he'd heard the noise as I tripped and thought I'd steadied myself as he could see me still moving forwards, but then saw me go down.  Luckily I saved the camera and I should add that this happened after breakfast so I can't blame the Cava!

I went to our room to see if I had brought any antiseptic with me, and saw Sandra one of the managers in her office, so I went to tell her what had happened as I thought they should know about the decking.  She gave me something to clean the wound and asked if I was ok.  A couple of hours later, she appeared at our day bed carrying two glasses of champagne and said she wanted to check I was ok.  She said she had brought champagne for the pain :-)  She asked where it was that I'd fell, and later on we saw a maintenance guy checking the area out.  Anyway, I'm fine, just a bit bruised.

Tonight was our extra night in the A la Carte Restaurant, and when we arrived Sandra was there to greet us (it was her who had arranged it for us), there was a little card on our table wishing us a Happy Anniversary (again), and after the meal we were given another glass of champagne each.  Sandra's only young, but she's really good at her job and has certainly gone out of her way to make sure we've had a good holiday.  In fact all the staff here, apart from a couple are really lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.