Jellies Jams and Pickles.

I have at long last just about finished my preserving apart from my Irish Marrow Chutney which will wait until I can get a suitable Marrow. This was my Damson and Apple Jelly which is a delicious.

Farming - Five out today! Mr Tbay Jnr was silaging as were two others and two were on compost hauling. 

I managed to long last to get my sitting room window under coated so hope fully tomorrow I will get the glass on. It was such a lovely Autumn day today. No wind and lovely warm sunshine. The undercoat dried almost before I could get it on!

Mr Tbay picked up the  children from school and we then had them until Mrs Tbay Jr had finished work.  Remarkably both decided that they would finish their supper with out any drama at all. I wish it was always that way!!

I should have had another Zoom AGM this evening but it was postponed for another week or so.  

The  recipe for my Irish Marrow Chutney is below. It is fabulous but needs to mature for at least a year! It’s well worth the wait.

Irish Marrow Chutney

1.5 kilos of marrow, seeded and diced
1.5 kilos of cooking apples, cored, peeled and chopped
225 g onions peeled and chopped
1 large garlic clove peeled, crushed and finely chopped
100g sultanas
100g raisins
100g dried apricots
100g preserved ginger finely chopped
1 x 15m spoon of ground ginger
50 g blanched almonds chopped
4 x 15 ml spoon mustard seed
1 x 15m spoon chillies, seeds removed and finely chopped
1 x  15 ml spoon salt
1 x 15 ml spoon ground cinnamon
1 x 15 ml spoon ground cloves
1 x 15 ml spoon ground nutmeg
900 ml malt vinegar
1.75 kilos sugar 
5 x 15 ml spoons of whiskey

Place all ingredients into a large pan and bring to the boil stirring frequently. Continue to simmer on a reduced heat for 1.5 to 2 hours or until the chutney is nice and thick and the consistency of jam. Spoon whilst still hot into sterilised jars and seal with airtight vinegar proof covers.  Makes approx 3kg of chutney.  Leave for several months to mature before using.

Enjoy !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.