ABSTRACT THURSDAY - LIGHT AND SHADOWS

I had looked at the theme for today’s challenge and when I saw the sun filtering through the sycamore tree outside our new fence and making shadows on our blue fence, I decided to get out there early and take some shots.  It was quite a shock to my system, as it was decidedly chilly this morning.  

I used a Slow Shutter app on my iPhone and was pleased with the result.  Then I did a bit of fartnarkling on another app, Snapseed, and here is myBlip for today - the rose bush and shadows against the blue fence.

I did a lot more shredding last night but I had to “fight” Mr. HCB to get to the shredder - for some reason he didn’t want me to do it - and nor does he want me to use his new mower to mow the lawn - is it a “man thing”?  I did see a smirk on his face when the shredder stopped working and I had to unplug it (being sensible) to try to dislodge some of the paper that had got stuck.  I did tell Mr. HCB that I couldn’t dislodge it and asked if he would please help me - another smirk!  Quite honestly, I could have done it myself, but I think it’s also a “woman thing” for we, mere women, to ask for help, to make our man feel good, and of course, he obliged.  

Today I am clearing in the kitchen and sorting out stuff to go to a charity shop - so definitely not bored and feeling quite good that I am getting on with the decluttering.  I have even broken down some cardboard boxes, which is unusual for me, as I like to keep them “just in case they come in handy”, which I know does annoy Mr. HCB.

Our new electric throws have been delivered so we are now officially ready for the cold evenings - and they might even be used when we sit outside under the carport to have afternoon tea with our neighbours.  Lynn and Mike both have “blankies” so Lynn has suggested that we put a four-gang socket between us so that we can all use it and then we can all keep warm.  I know we are completely mad, but surely that’s better than being miserable old codgers!

“Find beauty not only in the thing itself 
     but in the pattern of the shadows, 
          the light and dark 
               which that thing provides.”
Junichiro Tanizaki - Japanese Writer : 1886-1965

P.S.  Thank you all so much for the wonderful comments, stars and hearts on yesterday’s Sunflower Blip - which made it to the Popular first page.  If anyone would like some sunflower seeds, do get in touch and I will happily send a few and spread some Blip love! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.