FLOWER FRIDAY

Last night it was quite a chilly evening, so we were glad to have our new “blankies” and sat like a couple of “old codgers” with them wrapped around us, and we certainly weren’t cold - I think they are going to save us a lot of money on heating bills for the winter, which is good.

When I got up this morning, we had a chat about what we would do today and decided to go up to Jack’s for a coffee.  We were there before 9.30 but it was already quite full and we were reminded when we walked in that we needed to be wearing a face mask until we sat down at our table - the new regulations.  We enjoyed a latte and I had a piece of toasted banana bread, which was very good, sat and chatted for a while and then left.  

As I told a friend when I spoke to her later, normally we would have mooched around the shops for a while, but we did none of that, except that we did pop into DEBRA, one of the charity shops just along the road, to hand in some of my “decluttering” and did chat with the Manager and one of the ladies helping out.  I guess that’s what a lot of us miss and although Mr. HCB says he doesn’t miss the shops, the chances were that we would see friends in the street so would stop for a chat, but that doesn’t happen much now.

Anyway, I’m not going to get too maudlin about it - because as our younger son always used to say “It is what it is” so we just need to get on with our lives, as different as they may be and enjoy what we do have rather than bemoan what we don’t have.

Although the sun is shining, it’s a very windy day today, and our garden sculpture is going round well - in fact, it seems to be going better now the fence is a tad higher.  It was quite difficult getting a reasonable shot of the chrysanthemums, which are in a bed just outside our conservatory window, that Mr. HCB has grown, but I think I managed it.  I told Mr. HCB that his Dad would be very proud of him, not only for the beautiful carnations, which I have already blipped, but also because Dad also grew wonderful chrysanthemums and these are looking and smelling good.  Amazing what reminds us of those we have loved and lost - we certainly remember Mr. HCB’s parents when we are in our garden.

I found this quote on a calendar sent to me by a Blip friend - so thank you Veronica - it fitted in very well with the weather today!

“The pessimist complains about the wind;
     the optimist expects it to change;
          the realist adjusts the sails.”
William Arthur Ward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.