Sprout lover

By robharris35

Spam

Emails about safety measures in the workplace are coming thick and fast from any number of spammers. If I was responsible for buying one-way floor stickers or mounds of paper towels (as we’re not allowed to use drying cloths), I’d be spoilt for choice.

After work I joined some colleagues outside for a drink as it may be the final warm and dry evening of the year. I then worked late on a report, and finally was presented with the dilemma of whether to watch the Great British Bake Off when it had already reached witching hour. Of course, I watched it, and it was as wonderful as ever.

I’m still smarting about the loss of Mel and Sue, and was worried that I also needed to smart over Sandi Toksvig’s decision not to join this series. However Matt Lucas looks like a decent addition to proceedings, and definite kudos to him and Channel 4 for the spoof press conference of the piffle-paffler in charge of our country. Good to know where the Bake Off stands politically, although interestingly Prue Leith’s son is a Conservative MP and she admitted to voting for Brexit on a Question Time appearance. I would enjoy a political natter with her, which hopefully wouldn’t end with either of us getting a trifle pushed in our face. If it was the Bake Off it wouldn’t be a simple trifle using tinned fruit and custard like our nanas used to make, would it? It would definitely involve ‘crème pât’ and almost certainly would include pomegranate and gooseberry jam made especially for the occasion.

The Roman Catholic Church of Our Lady of the Assumption and the English Martyrs, near where I’m staying, always looks impressive, albeit long-winded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.