A bit of craft

I haven’t share my many fallen tree photos, as I think you’ve seen enough of those.

I didn’t sleep well, and knowing we lost our power at 11pm last night, decided to go out on my bike to the allotment to see how things were. At 8am it was still wet and windy, and the gate to the chicken pen had blown down, but they were huddled inside.

After feeding them, and securing their gate, I picked a few beans and ‘starting to redden’ tomatoes then cycled back the long way. I wanted to see if there were any more trees or blockages on the road. There was a huge amount of surface water, and eventually as I approached the bend at the top of our road, there I found half a tree had fallen and pinned the power cable to the ground. I had to push my bike up onto the muddy field to get past it. When I got home, Jon rang the emergency power suppliers number and told them where the problem was. Jon had got the camping gas stove out and made a pot of tea.

Mollie wasn’t keen to drive in to work, so we drove her in, then went to Morrison’s for breakfast. Unfortunately it was awful. Slow (45 minutes) and cold. We drove to Sheringham to get a decent coffee, and for Henry to get his haircut. I ended up buying an old vintage sewing machine from a charity shop. I just couldn’t resist it. I told myself that as there was no power at home, I could use it to sew. It was just my way of justifying the purchase!!

Once home I spent an hour cleaning up the machine, eventually working out where and how to put in the tiny bobbin, and got tension right for a few normal stitches. It was a bit of fun. Meanwhile Jon and Henry fitted the £40 dishwasher we bought a couple of weeks ago, and it all seems to be working fine! That is a huge plus for me, as the kitchen really doesn’t have the space for piles of dirty washing up.

The power came back on at about 3pm, so I set about making my first candles. Something else I am trying for ‘hut STUFF’ as I really want a selection of different things to sell. I’ve made these 3 today. By trial and error I hope to get it right and make lots more. I’m pleased with my first go at it. They are lavender scented, and I dropped a few lavender petals in the wax.

Now relaxing with the tv, and trying again with my new glasses. It’s just the computer that I am having trouble with them with now. Hope to get stuck in to some sewing tomorrow and more candle making..oh, and I want to start a new batch of paper. Hmmm. One day, I’ll spend all my days just doing crafts. Roll on that day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.