hut STUFF...crafting day 2.

After a lazy morning watching gardening programmes in bed, we got up at 10. We had a late coffee with apple and cream horns I made yesterday (I bought ready rolled puff pastry). I have a box in my glass cabinet of the metal cone shapes around which I wound strips of pasty, then baked. I prepared the apple from mums tree, and a few blackberries I picked wild. Filled the cones with apple and topped with cream. They were a lovely treat with coffee.

Then I made a lasagne for the evening, and chilli for tomorrow. It meant we then had the rest of the day to get started on our next idea. Mollie’s really. She was keen that we use our nice fabric to make purses for ‘hut STUFF’. I dug about to see what zips I had, and Mollie found an excellent YouTube video that helped us. Simple zip up bags. We planned our sizes based on the zips we had, and then the practicing began. Lots of trial and error, and lots of unpicking by me, but after many hours of fun we managed to produce these 3 bags. One small purse, and two makeup size bags. All with our labels. So genuine ‘hut STUFF’ designer bags! Not sure they are good enough quality to sell, but we have learnt a lot today, and had fun. We now need to buy small zips so that we can get on and make more!

Your feed back, good or bad would be welcome!

Jon has tested the dishwasher today that he fitted yesterday and it worked perfectly. That has given us a huge boost as it has been over 5 years without one, and will give us a bit of time and space back. Today he fitted a new radiator to Mollie’s room. Her old one was too big to also fit her new 4’ bed, so that came off the wall in June to fit her bed in. Jon plans to plumb it in next weekend as he needs to move her chest of drawers. It is smarter looking than our other radiators, so perhaps we will change them one day.

It has been a really productive weekend for all. The dreadful weather hasn’t hampered us, and even the power it yesterday didn’t spoil our plans too much.

Dinner was nice, and now a bit of tv relaxing, before another week at work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.