Shabby Chic

What a busy day,  Too many calls, too much to do and too little time.  I didn’t stop all day apart from half an hour early afternoon, when I made sure to get out for some fresh air.  I didn’t even stop properly for ten minutes to have my soup at lunchtime.
BB had football training tonight and once he was dropped off I went out for my daily steps, using a visit to the supermarket to give my walk some purpose.
TT had an early night tonight.  I think he worked through most of last night as he had a big deadline to meet. He has been weary all day.
We have waited so long for this dahlia to flower.  We bought three tubers.  One didn’t grow, one grew but was devoured by slugs, and is now re-growing, but is a bit of a feeble plant with a couple of small buds.  All our hopes were pinned on this plant which has gown very slowly, but is now a large plant with loads of buds.  We have three flowers in bloom and more to come.  They survived yesterday’s frost, but I am worried if we get more frost that will be the end of it, before it has really got going.  This flower took so long to bloom that the petals have been nibbled (earwigs?).  It is quite magnificent, but a wee bit shabby at the same time.  Shabby chic perhaps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.