TINY TUESDAY

The theme for today’s challenge was “On the ground or down below”, so I went out into the garden, armed with my selfie stick to see if I could find anything tiny.  Would you believe it, I didn’t see one snail, slug or insect, but I did find several flowers with something tiny inside.

Normally, Mr. HCB plants nasturtiums around his runner beans, but for some reason, didn’t do that this year, but he has promised me he will grow some next year.  However, one or two had obviously seeded from last year so there is an odd one amongst the courgettes.  Realising I hadn’t taken any photographs of nasturtiums this year, I thought that today would be a good opportunity to do so.  I needed the selfie stick because I do find it a little difficult to get right down to ground level, and this was the result.  What a glorious colour these little flowers are and they make a wonderful splash against the large green leaves of the courgette plants.

I have now given my kitchen trolley table a second coat of oil and it’s looking good - so the jobs are gradually getting done.  My next large project is my quiet room upstairs - which needs completely redecorating and re-carpeting - it hasn’t had anything done to it since I took it over after our younger son left home almost 25 years ago, so that will keep me busy for the autumn and winter.  However, there are hundreds of books, photographs and negatives and other rubbish piles of stuff to be sorted, so it could take some time - and I definitely need to be ruthless this time, because after all, it may be the last time this room is decorated - so watch this space!

“A flower's appeal 
     is in its contradictions - 
so delicate in form 
          yet strong in fragrance, 
so small in size 
     yet big in beauty, 
so short in life 
     yet long on effect.”
Adabella Radici

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.