JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED!

It has been a different day weather-wise - with constant rain and in fact, I didn’t get up until almost 10 o’clock, so by the time I had had my shower and done my hair, it was almost 11 o’clock.  What you might call a “gentle” start to the day.

I spent most of the morning finishing a knitted jumper for JH Ted and then, because I had written lots of cards yesterday, needed to go to the Post Office.  Mr. HCB suggested that we go for coffee and perhaps even cake at Jack’s, so that was what we did.  We even used the new NHC app and checked in with our phones!

I do have to mention, though, that although my piece of coffee and walnut cake looks larger than Mr. HCB’s carrot cake, it is an optical illusion and they were both the same size.  In fact, we shared them anyway and enjoyed them - and of course, also had a Jaffa cake with our coffee, so I am well and truly stuffed full up.  It’s a good job we only have a drink when we meet our neighbours at 4 o’clock!

Looking at the pouring rain, I can’t help feeling that we have been so blessed to have had such wonderful weather since this whole malarkey started and I just hope that we will remember that when the days get darker and colder.  I even said to Mr. HCB that we may have to start watching daytime television - but quickly decided that perhaps we wouldn’t - we have lots of things to do and plenty of books to read, so hopefully it won’t come to that.

We do actually need the rain, but I just hope that it won’t keep raining for too long as we still have work to do in the garden.  However, this gentle rain will bless the plants in our garden and save us having to water the pots, so I am thankful.

“The nicest thing about the rain 
     is that it always stops. 
          Eventually.” 
Eeyore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.