Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

This is how greenhouse 1 looks now. All of the tomato plants are gone. The cucumbers are staying for a little while longer, even if the leaves are under attack from some kind of pest. 
I've been hugging people today, even though it i still Covid around us. My boss gave me a hug, a coworker I didn't expect to be sad to see me go. a female coworker I've only known for a couple of weeks and one coworker who's returned. It's always nice to make an impact on people. We had a 'fika' with tea/coffee, a blueberry bun and I brought the carrot cake with frosting I made, since my boss told me in passing that she really loves carrot cake. 
There was some small panik from my side at first, since the cake didn't defrost as fast as the recipe said! I had a frozen cake 15 minutes before the break! Another coworker told me to put it in hot water. Just look so the baking tin doesn't take in water. So, off I went to the kitchen. I didn't find that thing you put in, to contain the water in the kitchen sink so I tried to place the baking tin, in a plastic bag, and cover the hole... That didn't go so well either. Finally I gave up. I thought I'd better bring a large strong knife and we'll just carve our way through. At least the baking tin wasn't sticking to the carrot cake anywhere and I could remove it easily. I put a bunch of blueberries on top and went back to our relax area. 
The cashier machine was acting out and my boss was busy trying to figure that out when I arrived. That bought me some time.
Finally we could sit down and relax. Everybody loved the cake and I had to promise to send the receipt. I managed to hold it together until I was alone again, doing my fav chore among the geraniums. 
I got so many gifts from the greenhouse... an orchid, beautiful one, a small money tree with perfect stem, a geranium, kale, apples, honey, tomatoes, and lots of parsnip. My boss told me that she and another coworker had been following me secretly, to see if there was something special I wanted. But I gave nothing away, until the last day. I had no clue I was being watched! :D 
With my backpack and four paper bags I wondered how on earth I will get home. A coworker kindly offered to drive me and I was very thankful! 
I will miss my work, but the greenhouse isn't far away and I will visit, I told all of them that. It's not the same, of course... but I did raise the question about being on a 'call list' if personell was needed and my boss thought that a good idea. Not sure if she'll take it further but at least she knows I want to be on that list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.