Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

This is one of 'my' geraniums, the Black Velvet Pink, at work. It's really interesting, I find, to see the different between those two left in the greenhouse and the four I have growing at home. The leaves have a different colour too. Mine are much lighter, due to less light. My boss and I talked about them during a chatt today. But I'm getting ahead of myself. 
First chore: taking care of Dahlias, preparing them for sale, and chatting with customers.
And then I helped a coworker and a customer moving her eight large, heavy (very heavy!), pots into the greenhouse... todays workout done! Customers have begun leaving their plants for winter storage in the greenhouse - I've blipped about this several times before. It feels kind of strange not being part of that this winter. 
We have two large Agave plants in the greenhouse. I think I've managed to partly get them in a blip somewhere... Anyhow, the customer leaving her plants got really enthusiastic about them and wondered if they were for sale. They are, but since we didn't think they'd be sold there's no price tag on them. She wanted to hear a price in spring when she collects her plants. I told her the story about them, that they'd been standing outside the University main building, and also - if I'm not wrong, in the Botanic Garden. My coworker and I made tumps up to each other. Perhaps we'll get rid of one of them! Cuttings have been taken from them before. And our boss was really pleased when she heard the good news. 
After the break I went to the Geranium mother plants again and started my favourite chore. They are such wonderful plants and I enjoy very much taking care of them. My boss came to talk to me about tomorrow, my last day. I get to keep my work clothes! Yay! I just need to cover the logo, but that's no problem. The pants, how non-stretchy they are, are really good work pants. Especially for gardening. Lots of pockets when you want your cutting tool with you, or seed packages or such. And I really like the fleece zipper jumper (better English word for that would be...?) She too, got a bit teary eyed when we talked. It is two years and we've gotten to know each other. Best boss I've ever have had!. But, now I'm coming back as a customer instead. They will not get rid of me! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.