An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

On the last day of September...

How did that happen?!

One minute it was March and lockdown started and now we are mere hours from October!  

I remember at the start of lockdown when we were initially told it was for three weeks and that seemed like a hell of a long time.  Then when it became apparent that it was going to stretch on for much longer, I remember thinking this was going to be the slowest year ever.  How wrong I was.  

At the beginning I also remember thinking ahead to autumn, October in particular, and hoping telling myself that even though summer would be over, so would the virus and we could all get back to our usual routines and be shaking our heads in wonder at the weird few months that were spring and summer 2020.  Oh how naive. 

Here we are, still in utter chaos (talking of chaos...Biden / Trump debate?!  Dear heavens!) with the threat of another full lockdown looming over us.  This time I am not assuming that in six months time all will be well but at least the nights will be lighter again ;-)

Part of me thinks it will be a relief when the clocks change and the long nights duly arrive.  The idea of fire on, shutting the curtains, cosying in and having a little respite from what's going on in the wider world seems rather appealing.  

But in the interests of the greater good, I did have a word with my little Covid-Eaters today to thank them for keeping us safe so far.   I did suggest that in light of the current situation they could try munching the dreaded virus a little bit faster but they assured me they are doing all they can.  As you can see from my blip, little Covid-Eater no 2 is particularly annoyed by the recent surge and is munching as fast as he can.  Thank you little CE2 :-))

In other news, David is on his was home from the day's golf at Barassie and miraculously the group didn't get soaked.  He's stopping to pick up pizza on the way.  Woo hoo!  :-)  

My baking tin to suit the peanut butter and white chocolate blondie recipe that I discovered the other day has arrived.  Slight amendment has been made to my Tesco order to ensure ingredients are in stock and will hopefully give the recipe a go on Friday.  

Well that's something to look forward to!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.