New reality day 65

What a day it's been. I'm quite tired. I didn't get much sleep last night. Even when I've been through this before and know there's nothing to be afraid of, I still couldn't sleep much.

Also the whole drive to the hospital I felt my stomach as a knot. No idea why. I was assuming I'll only get laser and foam, but to my horror the doctor said during the initial scan, that he needs to pull some of the vein out. SHIT! I was not happy about that. I do understand that it needed to be done, but that was not a pleasant surprise. Then again it was best I didn't know it before the operation day. I was worried enough without all the information.

They didn't give me any meds to start with, in case I didn't need any. I did. Perhaps 10 minutes in I started to feel odd and panicky and not good in general. At that point they said I could take my mask off and gave me oxygen. That helped for a while, but then it hit me again. So I got a shot of Bentzo. That helped for a while, but when they changed to another leg, it hit me again. I got another one. Well, I got half and half. Thank goodness for modern medicine.

The whole thing lasted 90 minutes. I was glad when it was over. Especially  pulling the vein off, even if it wasn't for that long. I felt the first pull. After that it got easier and was over quickly. Or the meds took care of me.

I was in a private hospital. As you can see the snack after was quite good and served from Marimekko dishes.

You can see a picture of the observation room where I spent my time before and after. One of the beautiful windows of the hospital.

Also the invoice which makes my hair stand up. That is in €. Jesus C!

And of course when I saw Marimekko tram, I had to take a picture of that one too. It's the iconic Unikko print that is trending again.

After they released me, my mum walked to the hospital as I wasn't allowed to leave alone. We walked to my parent's place (10 min walk away). We had some tee and chat, and after that Niklas and I left to come to Nastola. At some point I felt the meds start to wear off and I decided we'll drive straight to the pharmacy to get my pain meds.

I had doctor's orders to go for a walk. We did that with the dogs and now I'm on the sofa with my feet up. The boys left for groceries and then they'll enjoy sauna. I will have a bath next time Saturday evening and no sauna for 2 weeks. My in-laws had brought us some firewood (we had no space in the car when we came back), so I'll enjoy the fireplace instead.

Also picture from our morning walk with some pastel colors. Oh and one selfie ready to go to the op.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.