Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The only show in town

I took above shot early this morning, though not quite as early as the darkness implies.  The thickness of the clouds made it look like 6am.

This is the main road round the back of the house.  It always floods dramatically when the downpours are heavy enough - which they certainly have been over the last two days.  And then for blips this becomes the only show in town.  I had to use the 400ml lens or, kneeling on the pavement, I'd have been washed away.  Which ridiculous mental picture hopefully qualifies today's entry for October's SillySaturday, in memory of our dear friend Admirer. 

Some drivers - though not this one, I have to say - still see a flood warning and put their foot on the accelerator rather than the brake.  Big kids!

The rest of the day has been rather peaceful.  A short while ago I saw a tiny patch of blue sky and now the sun is making a wan effort to come out.  Some very good veg soup was made for lunch and this evening it's pancakes (NOT made by me, I'm happy to say).

Hope your weekend's going well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.