MUMMY LONGLEGS ON A PINK CARNATION - PINKTOBER 5

I don’t suppose crane flies, also known as daddy longlegs, get much exposure on Blip, because they aren’t particularly beautiful - in fact, I often scream if one starts flying near me - because they seem to dive bomb me and I hate the thought of them getting into my hair.  

However, when I went out into the garden this morning, and it’s quite a sunny day today, this little crane fly caught my eye and it just happened to be sitting on one of Mr. HCB’s pink carnations, which fits in well with the Pinktober challenge, so here it is.

I have learned lots things today about the crane fly or daddy longlegs and you might be interested - or if you have an aversion to them, you might not be!

1.   It looks like a giant mosquito, but is harmless.
2. The shape of the abdomen distinguishes the sex. 
3. The male’s shape is square-ended.
4. The female’s is pointed with an ovipositor - egg laying structure.
5. Looking at this one, I can see it’s a female.
6. There are about 300 species in the British Isles - 
this is the most common.
7. They are usually nocturnal and attracted to lights.
8. They legs often break off but don’t grow back. 
I can vouch for that - having seen legs left behind!
9. The larvae live in the soil and eat roots - we know that too.
They are known as leatherjackets and are pests. 
10. Adults rarely feed.
11. They emerge at night to chew the bases of plant stems.
12. They play dead to repulse predators.
13. They excrete smells to repel others.
14. They live 2 to 7 years unless stepped on!

So a nature lesson today and this little daddy longlegs will get HER 15 minutes of fame on Blip - perhaps she should be called a mummy longlegs!

Please remember to click on this link to enable those who cannot afford to pay to have a free mammogram.  Thank you.

“I’m stronger than I thought I was.
     My favorite phrase has been,
          ‘This too shall pass.’
I now understand it really well.”

Robin Roberts on her strength battling cancer

P.S.  The man rang to postpone the gravelling due to be done today and it is very claggy out there; shame as it's quite sunny - but hopefully by Wednesday, when it should be done, the bed will have dried out somewhat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.