Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Whatchoo lookin' at?

It felt like a macro day even though the insect "season" is definitely winding down.  I grabbed my 105 lens and lurked in the garden, poking around in the goldenrod and asters which are a haven for pollinators this time of year.  In addition to a good number of bumble bees, there were also quite a few of these big Northern Paper Wasps around.  Although they look very menacing, they aren't especially aggressive and tolerate humans well.  I think they actually have very intriguing faces, beautiful in their own slightly scary way.  

And to give equal time, I have posted a shot of my lest favorite wasp (Yellow Jacket) HERE on Flickr.  They are the meanest wasps I've ever met - disagreeable in the extreme and foul-tempered on even their best days.  

I had a nice long chat with bestie, Peggy, today - it was great to catch up.  

Saw my first dark-eyed junco yesterday and my first Ruby-crowned kinglet today ... fall is here.

Some shocking behavior from our president yesterday.  I probably shouldn't be surprised but still...

I made a call to an insurance broker this morning to get the ball started in getting myself on Medicare.  I've been procrastinating making the call which is silly.  

Stay safe, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.