WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Man at Work!

A while ago I said to Frank it would be good to have seats with storage at the the dining table. Here he he is putting my plan into action. It took a great deal of working out but the boxes are made. Ge still needs to make a raised platform between the seats so our feet will touch the floor. I then need to get some foam to make seat cushions.
The boxes mean that on one side I will have a dedicated space for my sewing machine and fabrics and the other side is big enough for musical instruments or whatever we need to stash. 
I was labourer and gofer.
As it was raining all the sharing had to be done inside the boat so there was sawdust everywhere.

Today is my eldest daughter's birthday. She is 44.
I wrote this years ago on one of her birthdays:

Quiet Joy


I'm asleep but I can hear noises, voices, the trundling of wheels, the clattering of metal.

Someone is moaning as in pain.
Is it me? 
I can't move; my legs and arms are too heavy.

"Just look at her Helga; dead to the world."
"Her BP is still very low. I'll speed up the drip".
"Aaw, bless her; she doesn't even know she has
a baby girl".

I smile and drift off into the unnatural sleep of anaesthesia.

                                             ~~~~~

I have to finish my Inktober drawing now. 

Hope you are all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.