FLOWER FRIDAY - PINKTOBER 9

In my excitement about receiving all those lovely gifts yesterday, I forgot to say that the gravelling work was almost completed on Wednesday.  I say almost  because Paul, who was doing the job, had over-estimated with the result that there was about half a ton extra on his lorry, which he didn’t want to take away, so he and his co-worker, Jason, wheel-borrowed that into the garden and we now have a mini-mountain of golden gravel in the blue corner.  

Of course, it won’t stay there, but before we can move that, we have to move some Cotswold stone clippings to another part of the garden to make another path - more green gym work - but at least it keeps us fit.  However, if anyone fancies some green-gym exercise over the weekend, just let us know - shovels and gloves can be provided.   We moved most of the pots yesterday and although they look rather regimented at the moment, we just wanted to see what they looked like.  I have made a collage looking from both ends and have put this in as an extra.  

I wanted to Blip one of Mr. HCB’s beautiful chrysanthemums for Flower Friday, although I know I did one of the deep red ones a couple of weeks ago, but the pink incurving one, as it’s called, was blooming beautifully so here it is.  If  you could see the palaver I had to get the other ones on the stem out of the way, you would have had a giggle.  I tied up one stem and pulled it back against the frame and then pulled another one down, all so that I could get this particular one.  There were about four shots that I particularly liked, but I let Mr. HCB choose this one as the main Blip for today.  His Dad, who was a prolific chrysanthemum grower, would be so proud of him and of course, I am too!

Mr. HCB felt we should have a break from green gym work this morning, so we went up to Jack’s for coffee and a toasted teacake, which we both enjoyed.  Then, for the first time in six months, I went down into the town because I wanted to buy some wool and go to the Bank.  Whilst buying the wool, I was helped by Sam, one of the assistants at Shaw’s and when she was serving me, I realised she had a pink tee shirt on - so explained about Blip and she kindly let me take her photograph - so Sam, who was extremely helpful, is my second extra today.

I have just heard on our Church Whatsapp group that Mary died peacefully this morning - and is now reunited with her husband, Keith, who died a few years ago.  We send our love and prayers to her family at this time and as I said a couple of days ago, I feel privileged to have known her for so many years. 

The words of 2 Timothy 4 : 7 are very true for Mary : 

“I have fought the good fight, 
     I have stayed on course 
          and finished the race, 
               and through it all, 
                    I have kept believing.”
The Voice Translation

P.S.  Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay may have a free mammogram.  Thank you. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.