BLESSINGS IN THE POST - PINKTOBER 8

I was in the kitchen just before midday looking around for something to take as my Abstract Thursday Blip when there was a knock on the window - I went to the side door and it was our lovely postman, Gary.

He had quite a few packages in his hand and proceeded to look in his bag for more - so I asked if they were all for me and he said they were.  We had a lovely chat, physically distanced, of course, but I was sad to hear that it will be Gary’s last day on our round tomorrow - we will miss him but I intend writing to his Manager to tell him what a bonus it has been to have Gary delivering our post in the last six months and what a cheerful person he has been throughout this pandemic, always there with a cheery word and a smile.

To say I am truly blessed today is an understatement because all five items of post were addressed to me - four of them from Blip friends!  The first one I opened was a lovely little card with the word “Faith” on the front; inside was a crocheted heart, with an invitation to “Follow our journey”, on the reverse of which it said, “You are not alone” - how comforting to know that - so thank you, special Blip friend for that wonderful reminder and beautiful thoughts.

The second gift was a lovely hand-made card from another Blip friend, that said, “The most beautiful flower in life’s garden is a Friend” - this lady has been a true friend to me throughout  my Blip journey and I’m pleased to say we often speak on the phone too, which is great.  Inside this envelope was also a beautifully stitched piece of cross stitch - which I haven’t included in the photograph because it’s a little early - and involves the “C” word!  More thanks needed.  

Then the next gift was a card from a fairly new Blip friend, to whom I had sent my dishcloth pattern, so she had very kindly knitted one for me, as she said, “With jolly colours…to reflect the joyful nature of your garden and many cheerful blips.”  How very kind and I am so grateful - and even more grateful that there is some pink in the multi-coloured cotton so it fits in well with the Pinktober BCAM challenge. This lady had also highlighted my name and address in pink - spot on!

The last gift was another lovely card with the message to “Do all the good you can, By all the means you can, In all the ways you can” - a saying of John Wesley.  This particular friend, whom Mr. HCB and I have spent many hours with since I first “met” her on Blip had also enclosed some beautiful BRIGHT PINK  gloves that could be used for gardening, but will be used for something else - which will be revealed very soon!  

The last piece of post was our credit card bill, which didn’t really bless me, but I must be grateful that we are able to buy things online, so I guess in one way it is a blessing!

So - it’s true what the Mother of one of my friends used to say many years ago, “If the Lord don’t come, He sends!”  He certainly sent many blessings to me today, so a HUGE THANK YOU to these lovely Blip friends - you know who you are - I shall treasure these gifts and the love with which they were made and sent.  

Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay may have a free mammogram.  Thank you. 

“Today will never come again. 
     Be a blessing. 
          Be a friend. 
Encourage someone. 
     Take time to care. 
          Let your words heal, 
               and not wound.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.