It's been a very productive season

tomatoes, courgettes, onions & garlic have featured greatly in my culinary wizardry, but we are now winding down on many of the fresh veggies. I harvested the remaining courgettes & Patty Pan squash earlier in the week, the tomatoes all picked and gradually ripening, garlic & onions still in the drying shed. 1 green pepper left. There are still beetroot, carrots, turnips, mooli, & butternut squash to harvest, but will have to start buying potatoes again soon. These veggies went into a beef paprika casserole for dinner tonight.

The Jumble Trail was a failure.  I had 4 visitors, 3 looked, 1 bought £12 worth of plants, his daughter bought Pink Floyd - The Wall cd for 50pence. Did'nt sell a single apple :-(  Josie arrived unexpectedly, I thought she was working today, she pulled up a picnic chair & had a catch up which helped the time go by. I was there from 10am  til 2pm. I packed the car, then sorted Mum's combi boiler. She keeps switching it off at the mains so the clock is all haywire when she switches it back on. Fingers crossed she won't switch it off now I've told her what to do re the thermostat.

Nearly cider time, I unloaded the plants back at the house. Prepared dinner, popped it in the oven, then flipped open a can.

That's been my day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.