Erica tetralix - Cross-leaved Heath

2 sets of bedding laundered & on the line, plus the marigold seed heads spread on trays & out in the sunshine this morning before I went to walk Indie. I dropped a bag of apples off to Stuart & Jackie on the way out of Chudleigh.
I'd missed a couple of items on Mum's shopping list yesterday. The Coop shop was all a bit "random" yesterday, not sure why, anyway nothing that can't wait til Wednesday. Yesterdays misty cobweb walk was magical, today's was full on sunshine. The cattle have been moved to another section of the heath, which we found out when I went over, & Indie went under, the fence onto the section where the active badgers sett is located. I knew they were in there as we had'nt gone far before seeing fresh cow poo. The autumn colours are fabulous in the sunshine but this little beauty, Erica tetralix,  caught my eye. Not as prolific as Calluna vulgaris or Erica carnea on our local patch of heath.
On the way back to Mum's I stopped to chat to Denzel, one of the regulars when Dad & Mum had the Anchor Inn. Mum & I had coffee & a chat, organised ourselves, & put the dates in  Mum's diary for later this week. Then it was time to head home for lunch.
This afternoon, I wrapped & packed all the apples into cardboard trays for storing, sorted some of my harvested seed, did a bit of weeding, then Emily arrived to pick up the bread making machine. She just about squeezed it into the pannier on her pushbike & cycled off. Hayley had made apple crumbles & brought 2 over for hubby & I, which was very sweet of her. I sent her message asking if she might be interested in an airfryer that one of hubby's friends gave him yesterday. I won't use it. She'd like to try it.
The week ahead could be an Autumn sweep, the garden shed needs attention, the spare bedroom needs attention, the allotment needs me. The charity banks could be bulging ..... Haircut on Thursday.
Roast duck & lots of lovely veggies for dinner tonight, not forgetting the apple crumble & custard for pud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.