carliewired

By carliewired

A Glorious Thanksgiving Morning

The sun surprised me
so a drive near the lake was
an absolute must!

~ carliewired


We had been warned to expect a wet and grey weekend for our Thanksgiving but the weather has been a pleasant surprise thus far. Saturday started gloomy but ended in a sunny late afternoon and early evening. This morning was a complete surprise with radiant light and some blue sky. I grabbed my camera and headed off towards Kamloops Lake. 

My first delight was meeting my plein air buddy out for her morning walk. We haven't painted together this year at all so it was wonderful to have a bit of a chat to catch up. 

I stopped to look at Battle Bluff where the Canadian National Railway goes through the hill. Initially, there was a single track through the tunnel. Now that it's been dual tracked there's another line beside it. I caught a railway maintenance vehicle checking the old line. It's a popular area for dog walkers. There was one there this morning with his little pack. One is warned to watch for rattlesnakes in that area during the heat of summer. 

On the way back home I stopped to look at the pond near Tranquille where migratory birds are frequent. They are gathering up now to be ready to head south. Ranchers have their supplies of winter hay in storage. They look like big marshmallows stacked in the fields. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.