Autumn Colour through the Rain

It’s dark and raining , why it must be a Monday morning! There seem to be more wet Mondays than other wet days of the week, but I may be prejudiced as it’s the only day I have an ongoing assignation with baking which means I have to go out early. Despite the gloom, the acer trees in their autumn plumage outside the gate to Maggie’s shone like welcoming orange beacons.

By the time I got back to the Dower House at 9 am with my empty bag, I was soaked - coat, shoes, socks and trousers. It still was hardly light and the rain was coming down like stair rods.

I was ready to put on my baffies and spend an indolent day indoors until I remembered that my statins were awaiting collection at the chemist on the other side of the Meadows, so there was nothing for it but to gird my loins and tramp over in a dry set of clothes to get them.

The physio I visited last week has emailed me diagrams of the exercises I should be doing - my homework and so like the obedient patient I am, I’m off to do them.............but........please Sir, the floor is so hard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.