pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

School Walk

I love the school run.

I’m not sure that there are many other things that make me feel more like a parent, than getting the children ready for and dropping them off at school.

There had been some reluctance from certain quarters (mainly the youngest) about the short walk to school, but in a masterstroke of managing expectations I declared a house rule that as long as it wasn’t raining, we would always walk in. 

Fortunately, we have had a good run of morning weather lately, so we’ve been able to do this on almost every day. This morning was a particularly good morning for The Youngest as not only was she able to clutch the walkie talkie given to her by her brother as they check in with each other despite often only being a few metres apart, but also she insisted on wearing a new coat that Nanny had bought for her.

Whilst a little nippy out, it really wasn’t that cold, but she looked so cute and happy with her little lot, that I wasn’t going to tell her otherwise.

When will I learn that sometimes there is absolutely no harm in taking the path of least resistance?!

In other news, my leaky toilet was fixed by my plumber neighbour at a fraction of the cost and I cooked a meal from scratch for third night running (The Eldest’s favourite: Chorizo, Mozzarella and Gnocci bake), which is definitely some kind of record, so I’m sure numerous accolades, medals and awards are on their way to me as I speak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.