... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Long-tailed Tit: Hide & Seek

Better in large (so that the tiny bird is actually visible...).

Hum, this is me being stubborn... There were several long-tailed tits flitting around on Wandsworth Common this afternoon in the relatively dim light; they were chasing each other about, and being very restless. I saw 5 individuals, and as soon as I saw them I thought "Oooh, I could blip one of them again...". Right. Just like that...

The hunt proved rather trickier than anticipated: they wouldn't let me get anywhere near them! The little robin from Thursday and 9.1.2013 kept coming very close to me and singing (being territorial); I felt as though it was pretty much following me, and it was almost singing in my ear!

Following?! Perhaps it was taunting me... "Give up on them; blip me!". I got plenty of close and crisp pictures of that cute and chirpy little creature, but NO! I wanted a long-tailed tit...

So, here it is! I got a couple of closer shots than this, but I like the way it is looking over its shoulder; I think it was plotting its next photo-scuppering move. Either that, or it is a fan of Zoolander and was trying to recreate the Blue Steel/La Tigra/Ferrari/Magnum look

p.s. Random fact of the day: these little tits weight less than a £1 coin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.