Choosing Berwick

I'm somewhat behind with my blips, as we've been busy the last few days, for reasons that my sister has been charting in her blips (I didn't bother trying to blip as I was struggling to get enough wifi in our hotel room to make it anything other than painful). We travelled down to Berwick-upon-Tweed on Thursday, via St Abb's Head, which I don't think Mr A and I have visited since we started blipping. We had a pleasant if shortish walk in better weather than we anticipated as we drove down, and then a rather chilly picnic in front of the Smiddy cafe (although some of us did buy some stuff from the cafe). We did get a few dark looks though...

We were able to get checked in on arrival at the hotel, and while I think the others rested, I wandered the ramparts of Berwick, reminding myself what a lovely little town it is. My wanders took me eventually to the station, where L arrived about 4.30pm. Earlier on he'd been messaging me in some desperation, as he left his laptop charger at home, but he eventually managed to source one in a computer shop round the corner from Kings Cross, before getting on the train. It had been pretty stressful for him, as he was on a work call the whole time he was trying to find a place to buy a charger using his other phone. Anyway, that all ended ok (and without the need for us to raid PC World in Berwick to see whether they had the necessary) and it was good to accompany him back to the hotel. As his last work call was cancelled, we were able to morph into pre-dinner drinks, and the hotel did a really good job of accommodating us all on a very large table so we could maintain distance. It was probably compliant-ish, but we were comfortable with it. Although in Tier 2, Berwick actually has very few active cases. It was a fun evening catching up with everyone.

I've put a picture of the viaduct and an entertaining little shot by L in the extras. He bought those mugs. You get the flavour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.