Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Walking at Wark

Wark (W-ARC as in Noah's not like WALK) is the next village up the road to Kielder from us. There is a perfectly flat path by the riverside, so I drove there today for my walk.

It was a very dark, damp morning and the River North Tyne was steely grey as it pounded down along. There is a lot of water in at the moment, following the rain. There was no possibility of crossing to Gold Island without waders today.

On my return route I stopped on the bridge to look at this garden. It is always immaculate. I rarely see anyone in it, but someone must put a huge amount of work in to keep it like this. You can see that some of the tender plants have been moved into a shelter ready for the winter.

Most of the buildings are stone and terraced. Just behind this house is the village green surrounded by a variety of houses. 

I thought you might like to see a little bit of this village for a change.

I have included an extra of some very damp haws. They tried to sparkle despite the lack of sun.

Tonight we watched Have I Got News for You from last night's TV schedule. We laughed and laughed. I think we needed that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.